It Hurts For Only a Moment

She laid there staring at the ceiling wondering how she got herself into this predicament. Holly knew he was just outside the door anticipating the upcoming event. Her heart pounded within her chest. Fear filled every sinew of her body. She never wanted to be here. She never asked to be put into this position.

The door opened quietly, slowly. He slid out from behind it silently. He had a happy smile on his face.

She thought; What is he trying to say, this is no big deal? Is this something he does every day? Her body stiffened as he approached her, still wearing that ridiculous smile.

“C’mon,” he said in almost a whisper, “I can’t do this unless you open up.”

Her eyes widened. He saw the fear in them. “Wider. Open up wider.”

Holly shook her head quickly. She swallowed hard. “I’m afraid,” she pleaded.

He looked at her inquisitively. “You’ve never done this before, have you?”

Her face relaxed. “Is he going to let me go now,” she hoped. Only she could hear those words. Then she said “No. This is my first time. I mean … you do understand I am only sixteen years old, you know.”

He chuckled. Holly felt insulted. “Oh. I’ve had lots of girls like you. They all say the same thing.”

“Yeah? What’s that?” She hoped her fears would subside with his next words.

“They all say when its all done and over with; ‘That wasn’t so bad. I don’t know what I was so afraid of.'”

Holly closed up. He had to start again.

“Come on now, Holly. It hurts for only a moment.

“But I told you I am afraid. And what will everyone say when they find out? I’ll be ruined at school.”

“My dear, sweet Holly. How will anyone know? Unless you tell them.”

“These things always get around. And then …” She didn’t know where to go after that.

“It will hurt for only a moment,” he repeated as he took her hand in his. “It’ll be over with before you know it. Now … wider, please. I can’t do this unless you open wider for me.” His voice was a little more impatient with her and it scared her enough to open as wide as he wanted her. Holly just wanted this to be done and over with. She gave in to his soft voice and incessant words.

Dr. Cleaver was finally able to pin-prick Holly’s gum to numb the tooth that needed a filling.

 

 

Leave a Reply

