Talk to Someone

Ever see a person and know that you aren’t going to get along with that person? He’s there and you see him, he sees you and you go; “Eww.”

I could ask; Why is that? But I think a more important question would be; How do you handle that?

Actually, there are three ways to get through this. Let’s even go a step further. Let’s say you are dealing with a alligator. He’s in your way and you have to get past it.

The first way, and I find most people prefer this method, is to ignore the gator. Just walk away and pretend it isn’t there.

The second way is to leap over the gator and go through him. One would have to agree that is dangerous to do with an alligator. But, undoubtedly, you do have to get to where you need to go.

The third way to get through the alligator is to confront it and see why it feels necessary to block your way.

I don’t have to point out that we are talking about human beings now. Not alligators. It floors me, at times when I see the first two scenarios played out. I’m not saying that they shouldn’t be done. They may be necessary at times. Use the opportunity to talk to someone. You may never know who you are talking to.

Case in point. A bunch of years ago I read a book. I believe it was by Andrew Carnegie. The story went something like this; There was a salesman in a store when this little old lady walked in. She wanted just an item of some nature and the salesman thew himself into the sales. He couldn’t do enough for the lady.

She didn’t look like anyone special. She wasn’t dressed in fine clothes. Nothing that said she was rich to anyone’s imagination. But when she left, the other sales reps asked if he lost his marbles. He said you never know who you are talking to when speaking to people. A week later Andrew Carnegie walked into the place and asked for the salesman. Andrew shook the man’s hand and thanked him for treating his mother so well, then turned around an placed a huge order with that salesman. I believe it was a furniture store.

My point is; talk to people. Nobody’s going to hurt you. Nobody’s going to bite you. We are all human on the same playing field. You have no idea how much someone could be starving to have an intelligent conversation with a live person.

Two days ago I was at a hospital. I had to get something to eat. A CNA told me how to get to the cafeteria. When I got there a gentleman came out from behind his station and asked me if I wanted anything to eat. I could tell from his speech pattern and the look on his face, the man was challenged. I asked him if he made all this food. He told me the chef made it. I told him that he should demand a promotion to being the chef and we had a good laugh about it. Then he said he didn’t want to be the chef. But I could tell at the end of our conversation, he felt good he had that moment with someone.

Talk to people. You may never know where you might end up.

Leave a Reply

