Okay, We’re Chatting Now

I know I’ve talked about this before, but I have to tell you about the things I have been learning.

I’m still going through the book Structuring Your Novel by; K.M. Weiland. And I have to tell you that I have been losing sleep over gaining such wisdom from such a young, yet experienced author as she. Just to read the step by step teachings, well, that is very inspiring. Example; I decided to start my second novel over from scratch. After re-writing it a couple times, I couldn’t keep the chapters straight in my head. So, I am in the middle of outlining my story. I got stuck a couple days ago. Just today I picked up K. M.’s book and after one-half page, the inspiration hit me. The only unfortunate thing was that I was at work when I took a couple minutes out to read the half page. It was driving me crazy not to do something about the ideas that were going through my head.

I pulled out my phone and brought up the voice recorder and recorded that things that were going through my head.

Phew! Glad I got that off my chest. Point is– and I know I’ve said this before, if you are new at this writing thing, go get K. M. Weiland’s books on how to write a novel. I can’t say enough about it.

On a more personal note…

Last Wednesday night I was up until the wee hours making a picnic for my granddaughter and me. Thursday was going to be a gorgeous day  in the Pacific Northwest and I wanted to do something special with Hannah. On the way to picking her up at school, an idea struck. I had to stop in at the supermarket first.

The final bell goes off and I come in to swoop her up and off we got to a park I used to take her when she was a toddler. She still tells me of the memories she has of that place.

jivaphotography.com

We find a shelter and I believe it was there just for us. One picnic table in a shelter just big enough for no more than maybe four people. I laid out the food as she waited patiently. Then I pulled out this bottle that looked like a wine bottle.

“Papa,” she says with a sound of authority over me. She’s eleven.

I look at her with big puppy dog eyes, innocent as could be. “What,” I whined.

“I’m not drinking any alcohol.”

I place the bottle over my forearm and show the princess the label. “What do you see written on this label?”

She stood up to see the print. “What am I supposed to see,” she asked curious as can be.

“What does that n-o-n mean?” I’m big on definitions.

She said; “There isn’t any.”

“What’s that big word after it?”

“Alcohol.”

“Good! So, is there any alcohol in this bottle?”

“I guess not.”

“Good. Are you going to have any of this bubbly grape juice?”

Of course she did. And we had a wonderful picnic in the park with all her memories where Papa let her walk in the creek and get all wet when she was so young.

Leave a Reply

