Humble Advice

I am going through what I imagine every writer goes through in this profession. That would be; humility.

I read in his book, On Writing. Stephen King tells that Carrie was his breakout book.

It was also his third book he wrote. (bestsellers.about.com) The stories go from there with other authors. It is a very uncommon thing that anyone’s first book was a hit. Save The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancey, His first book which became a movie. (www.tomclancey.com)

k12edubuzz.com

 

So, here I am sort of down. Not exactly depressed or discouraged. Just an unenergetic–what am I going to do now?  I went over the past say, twenty years of my life and looked at everything attempted to accomplish. It didn’t take much searching to come up with an realization. I needed to be educated in writing. Cause, let’s face it, I wrote My Angel of Angels by the seat of my pants. No outline. No real planning, nothing. Just the question; “What happened next?” and a tedious re-write after re-write.

It has been said; “Education is power.” And that is dead right. I ordered three books online. One explains how to outline. the other explains howe to structure your book and the last tells how to write the book. being not even half way through the outline lessons, I am laughing at me thinking; “Oh. I was supposed to do that?” I feel like such a Duh.

Almost every page holds some golden nugget of knowledge that opens another corner of my mind. With every new understanding, I feel more energized to write another story. The book I’m working on now, I want to outline the whole thing and perhaps take it in a whole new direction or just make the story line juicier in some way. The point is, I’m really excited about learning how to write and tell a story.

Can you No, no, no. That’s wrong. Can we agree that the most exciting thing to do in life is to create? Create a story that someone is going to have run through their mind. Let them see the countryside you created in their mind. Create a few hours of ‘me time’ for someone who needs to be entertained on a rainy Saturday or Sunday afternoon. It’s soul warming to think about.

My point is, if you are a neophyte in this arena, look at what other authors are doing. Read their books and take in what they are doing. Get your hands on books of how the experienced ones did it. They are gracious enough to share their secrets with us. Take advantage of it.

Look, I’m just talking to you from a humble, modest position in an area that is really new to me. I had no idea what it took to be a writer. I had no idea how much of an education it takes to so this stuff.

To be open, I was studying a philosophy and the founder, who wrote a lot in the 1930s under about two dozen nom du plumes, said; “…If you want to write, write.” (sic) I took that as solid advisement. Then I had my eyes open. There’s a bunch more to it than merely just writing. But it all adds up to a lot of excitement, work, and fun.

If you want to know what I’m reading, here’s a list:

  • Outlining Your Novel by K.M Weiland
  • Structuring Your Novel by K.M. Weiland and
  • How to Write a Novel by Nathan Bransford

You can also subscribe to Nathan’s website and he will send tips and advice on a daily basis. I thoroughly enjoy the knowledge he sends.

http://youtu.be/hAwn73WrliE

I have to tell you, that this story I told you just now is true. I just found the clip on K.M. Weiland and our stories are pretty much the same. And I agree with her on the education part. Not a big college fan. But it goes to show you that you don’t need a big sheet of lambskin on your wall stating that you have an education. All you need is the desire and discipline.

Leave a Reply

