The Ugly Side

I want to take up on an ugly topic. But I believe it’s a topic that needs to be addressed.

I was talking to a woman named Kerstin. When she speaks on most anything, I listen. We stumbled upon a particular subject that, quite frankly surprised me having it come from Kerstin. Kerstin is one of the most gentlest, purest of heart ladies I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. So, when she mentioned to me about human trafficking, my ears perked.

There is a book out called; Renting Lacy by Linda Smith. If that name sounds familiar to you, that because Ms. Smith was a representative for Washington state.

This brave woman went to Mumbai, India and found children, girls to be precise, living in cage-like conditions. They were being used as prostitutes. Mumbai is considered to be the worst place in the world in for prostitution.

Now, we are talking about girls who are no younger than twelve years old being prostituted. Unbelievable! But harshly true.

So why am I telling you about something that is going on in India? Because there is a huge market in prostitution and human slavery in the United States.

According to www.thecoveringhouse.org human trafficking generates $9.5 billion annually, approximately 300,000 children are at risk of being prostituted in the US, and the average age is 13-14 years of age.

Parents, how comfortable do you feel now? If you go to the highlighted site, you will get a lot more statistics that will absolutely shock you. I don’t want to got into it here. My stomach is flipping.

If you go to sharedhope.org there is a lot of information there also.

Imagine your thirteen or fourteen year old daughter, niece, granddaughter or any young teen aged girl you care about approached by some charming young man and starts paying all kinds of attention to her and she’s taken by this guy. Then he showers her with expensive gifts and tells her how much she means to him. She is hooked.

You think this is far fetched? That is how these traffickers do it. That’s how they get these innocent kids caught up in slavery and prostitution. And these innocent little children are stuck with these savages for years. They are too afraid to say anything to anybody. Why? because they are threatened in one way or another. Anywhere from their lives threatened to their families threatened to be wiped out.

If you want to get the full story on this horrifying topic and do something about it, go to Amazon and order Renting Lacy. All it costs is $12.20 for a printed copy. Less expensive if downloaded on to a device.

I have nothing more to say about this because it is affecting me. Besides, I want to call my granddaughter to tell her I love her.

I’ll leave you with this; If and when I do make it as a writer, I have found a non-profit organization I will help. What better way to help the human race than to let a little girl enjoy her youth.

Aren’t you glad you had yours, Ladies?

 

Leave a Reply

